Depression and food?

It’s been a while, but I’m still here–struggling. I didn’t meet my goals. Now, I’m stuck.

The last week, or so, I’ve been eating dairy like you won’t believe. I keep saying I can stop when I want, but so far…I haven’t. This led to a few questions for me. 

1) Is dairy addictive?

2) Can dairy consumption lead to depression?

I had a Doctor once tell me that I should stay away from animal products. He said that he didn’t think my body processed them correctly. I did as he suggested and was a vegetarian for many years. I did feel better. I exercised more too. Then I got lazy and gave it up. 

I currently feel worse than I have in years. I have a few things working against me. Sleep deprivation–my youngest still doesn’t sleep through the night. And dairy… I just can’t seem to give it up. 


Something I’ve noticed on this dairy binge (and by dairy binge, I mean, having a glass of milk a day and a serving of cheese), is that I’m feeling really depressed. I’m exhausted. I have no motivation. I just can’t seem to get it together. And I want to get it together. I’m just getting along day by day. My husband has started to notice. He asks every night “what’s wrong?” “What can I do?” And I say “nothing. I’ll be fine.” But I don’t feel fine. I don’t feel like I’m going to be fine. I feel like a bad mom and a bad wife. I want to do more, but I can’t make myself. I’ve basically abandoned social media. I don’t answer emails. Even my school work is suffering. I can’t bring myself to even work on anything. 

I know this sounds like complaining because it is. I’ve been trying to suck it up, but I’m just not feeling it. I’ve been sitting on all this for a while, so I thought that I’ll share it here and see if anyone else feels this way. 

Is it the dairy? And if so, how do I stop? Do you ever feel this way after you eat certain foods? 

I hope you all are doing well on your life changes! 

*I apologize for not going back an editing this post properly. Please excuse any typos.

Leave a Reply

